Fruit classification

“How about this one here?

Where would you place it, which one’s the tier?

It’s less red or green and a lot more yellow

But the shape it has is round and quite mellow.

So, which one is it, a banana or an apple?

Say what you think, don’t just let me grapple!”

 

My friend asked me with an orange in hand,

When did he stick his head in the sand?

 

“I don’t think you can say that it’s either,

It’s the wrong color and its taste is a breather.

And look, there’s loads of ones like this still here,

About one percent, if estimated by ear.

Let’s make a new class for this one right now,

Might be complex, but it’ll work out somehow.”

 

I could see one large vein start to throb,

As his brain had an unfamiliar, new job.

 

“Who ever heard of more classes than two?

I don’t know on what you base your strange view.

It’s always been only apples and bananas.

Time to get real from your Fata Morganas!”

 

“It’s clearly different, if you take a good look,

If I took time, I bet I could write a book!”

 

“That’s why I’m the boss and you’re the assistant.

I say it’s a banana, to keep this consistent!”

Leave a comment