Pact of the tired mind

When I turn in and lie perfectly still,

I wait for the sleep to come, and it will,

Sometimes it takes time, maybe an hour,

I fixed this by using my brainpower.

I told my mind that “Here is the deal.

We’ll lie here inert from head to heel.

Even if we don’t fall under very soon,

Which might happen once in a blue moon,

Still counts as sleeping for the me the next day.”

My mind agreed and relaxed, flew away.

If I do this, my mind can roam free,

There is no stress when we thus agree.

The fun thing is, that it helps me crash,

Moisting up the pillowcase in just a flash.

Who knew only an agreement was needed?

If I remember, it’ll never be unheeded.

Leave a Reply

